Tags

, , , ,

Hoo boy, I’m so busy right now that I’ve forgotten to be thankful about anything. Except, no, I was thankful, I just didn’t have time to write about it! Let’s just say that there is a lot going on in Harmless Vice World, both personally and professionally, and while I’ve got time (occasionally) to reflect on the blessings of this life, I don’t always have the time (or gumption) to write it down.

Thursday I was grateful for my daughter. OK, let’s be real here – I’m grateful for my daughter every day, and have been since December 18, 2002 when the doctor brought her into the world and said, “It’s a girl.” She is my joy and my delight…yes, even when she’s whining or yelling or being annoying. (Right now she’s hanging out with a friend in our basement, and they are sing-shouting choice bits from Les Miserables, but making up new words as they go.)

So Thursday. I’d had a long, hard day at work and got home essentially just in time to pick my daughter up after her chamber music lesson at 7 pm. I was tired and a little downcast after a couple of frustrations during the workday. I picked her up, and she got into the car, full of excitement and effervescence. She started talking, not about her Now playingchamber music lesson, but about a book she was reading, and ideas for stories, and life on other planets. By the time we got home, she had cheered me up and reminded me why I work so hard in the first place.

I could go on and on about my daughter, but I won’t. Instead I’ll switch over to Friday and what I was grateful for yesterday – musicals. Last night was opening night of our local high school musical, which was – of course – Les Miserables. My husband is conducting the pit orchestra, and my daughter is in the children’s chorus and sings in a few numbers.

Les Miserables is not my favorite musical, but it’s very affecting. Musicals are just a fun way to get out of your real life and enter a fantasy world where people break into song at the slightest encouragement. Of course Les Miserables is not exactly glamorous and fun, but it’s still escapist. So, hooray for musicals! (My family did a great job, by the way. Only 7 more performances to go!)